Uncategorized

Photoshop- Digital and Manual (ha!)

Loving our new FB Page Cover Photo!

Follow us on FB @PaperBatterBanter

pbb3

The artwork was done on Photoshop as I didn’t have Illustrator in my semi-ancient PC.

I created the ‘crafty girl’ with basic watercolors and black sketchpen. I got my inspiration from an image I had saved on my cellphone while random googling. Unfortunately I am unable to place the source. Please let me know in the comments if you know the artist.

14962955_10154709026176952_354019674_n

ORIGINAL ARTWORK- UNKNOWN ARTIST

14954429_10154709024926952_214274376_o

MY TAKE   😀

I have a love and hate relationship with editing and adding filters to photographs or paintings. I do feel it is unfair sometimes, but i attribute that feeling to the fact that I am a complete noob when it comes to both. So much to learn in such a short life.

The Design Process

I layered the above paint work I did with a ‘Polka Dot’ background from http://www.freepik.com

More than anything, I wanted the writing to stand out. The fonts used are ‘DJB COFFE SHOPPE EXPRESSO’ for the middle portion & ‘BEAUTIFUL MESS’ for the surrounding text.

I first selected different colors for the surrounding text and added a ‘stroke’. Merged these components. Then I added some effects and adjusted the strokes to bring a ‘neon’ feel to it.

Here’s another watercolor work I did. A skyline of the City of Riyadh, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.

14976186_10154709025121952_1857564474_o

Most of my work is little bits I did over twenty minutes or so when my children are napping. I usually have to run away from my studio ( that looks like a big tornado hit my pile of laundry, colored pens, paint tubes and scrap material), with my work still unfinished.

This is my way of retaining sanity and it helps me refuel to keep going for the day.

Two boys doesn’t seem like much, but they certainly are a handful.

Leave a comment