PENned

Home

Dawn, a little too early

But the right time to steal a little sanity

Walking tiptoe down the flight of stairs

My morning time is mine, not to share

Hesitantly I open the creaking door

Peaking, hoping, scanning the floor

Not to get face to face with uninvited guests

The roaches and lizards are true pests

I get into business, I’m about to be free

I Make, take, and sit with my tea

Breathing in the pure, fresh scent

Sunrise. my Couch. My invisible tent.

This is the place, my very own space.

Not a place that’s seen my best,

Memories here haven’t been the greatest

Love, fate, hate and love- probably in that order

This used to feel like a war-zoned border

There’s drama, there’s tears, this place often feels like a goner

But as soon as I leave, I want to be back here sooner.

‘Cause here I’ve built an abode of my own

with my spouse, my kids, my very own home

I Curl up my feet, my hair in a bun

Maybe not exactly the ‘regular’ kind of fun

But Home is where I want to be

I want to be where I can let me be me

I accept myself, with my baggage & flaws

Why should I battle- mom’s vs. in-laws’?

7 thoughts on “Home

  1. “I want to be where I can let me be me”
    Beautiful just beautiful❤
    I love spending time at home with my family & this just steal my heart.
    Home is where I am comfortable & happy & where I can be just me.
    Loved it👍

    Like

  2. Aw masha’Allah, I love this 🙂 “My morning time is mine, not to share” – I am very precious about my morning time in peaceful solitude! It may not sound exciting, but quiet time in my personal space with a cup of tea is my kind of perfect alhamdulillah 🙂

    Like

  3. I can be such a homebody sometimes because I love my space & family time, so I can definitely relate to wanting the quiet mornings (before everybody else wakes up) to myself. Favourite lines: ” ‘Cause here I’ve built an abode of my own, with my spouse, my kids, my very own home” xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

